Hector

Hector – an Eden Court, Comar / Mull Theatre and Ed Littlewood Productions co-production

Written by David Gooderson

Cast and Creatives

Kate Nelson – Director

Ali Maclaurin – Designer

Pippa Murphy – Composer

Simon Wilkinson – Lighting designer

 

Gowan Calder – Christina / Lady Ridgeway

Steven Duffy – Hector MacDonald

Raj Ghatak – Vikram / Lord Roberts

Stevie Hannan – Governor

Valentine Hanson – Phipps

Kevin Lennon – Bayliss

Fiddle – Amy Geddes: Accordion – Brian McAlpine

Story

Scottish national hero or scandalous predator? Based on new and extensive research Hector tells the true story of ‘Fighting Mac’, Sir Hector Macdonald, and is an exploration of the elitist English class system, the poisonous influence of rumour and gossip and the devastating power of the global press.

Rising from humble beginnings through the ranks of the British Army, to become a knight of the realm, hero of the Battle of Omdurman and Queen Victoria’s favourite general. A Scottish hero.

“A tragic thriller full of contemporary resonances… a brilliant polemic against our cruel desire to prejudge sexual scandals; some bright young button at the BBC should snap up this script.”? – Lloyd Evans, The Spectator

Allegations of scandalous liaisons surface and MacDonald is forced to return home. But was he guilty? Or was he the victim of a plot fabricated by an English Establishment to remove a Gaelic-speaking upstart who got above himself?

 

Tour Dates

Eden Court, Inverness – Wed 21 Oct 7.30pm – 01463 234 234 | www.eden-court.co.uk
Paisley Arts Centre – Fri 23 Oct 7.30pm – 0300 300 1210 | www.renfrewshireleisure.com/arts
The Brunton, Musselburgh – Sat 24 Oct 7.30pm – 0131 665 2240 | www.thebrunton.co.uk
The Lemon Tree, Aberdeen – Tue 27 Oct 7.00pm – 01224 641122 | aberdeenperformingarts.com
The Kirkgate, Cockermouth – Thur 29 Oct 8.00pm – 01900 826448 | wwwthekirkgate.com
Adam Smith Theatre, Kirkcaldy – Fri 30 Oct 7.30pm – 01592 583302 | www.onfife.com
Birnam Arts, Dunkeld – Wed 4 Nov 7.30pm – 01350 727674 | www.birnamarts.com
Woodend Barn, Banchory – Thur 5 Nov 7.30pm – 01330 825 431 | www.woodendbarn.co.uk
The Byre Theatre, St Andrews – Fri 6 Nov 7.30pm – 01334 475000 | www.byretheatre.com
Gardyne Theatre, Dundee – Sat 7 Nov 7.30pm – 01382 434940 | www.gardynetheatre.org.uk
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh – Wed 11 / Thur 12 Nov 7.30pm – 0131 228 1404 | www.traverse.co.uk
Druimfin, Tobermory – Sat 14 Nov 7.30pm – 01688 302 211 | www.comar.co.uk
Astley Hall, Arisaig – Tue 17 Nov 7.30pm – 01687 450262 | on the door
SEALL@Sabhal Mòr Ostaig – Isle of Skye – Wed 18 Nov 7.30pm – 01471 844207 | www.seall.co.uk
Victory Hall, Benderloch – Thur 19 Nov 8pm – 01631 720498 | on the door
Innellan Village Hall, by Dunoon – Fri 20 Nov 8pm – Tickets on the door £9/£7
Ambassadors Theatre, London – Wed 9 Dec – 2.30pm and 7.30pm
08448 112 334 | www.theambassadorstheatre.co.uk | 0333 321 9999 | www.ticketmaster.co.uk

 

 

Steven Duffy as Hector MacDonald

 

Hector is a new production based on So Great a Crime, which premiered at the Finborough Theatre in 2013. We are grateful to Neil MacPherson and the Finborough Theatre for their support of Hector.

 

Photo credit: Peter Dibdin Photographer